Health Law Blog

HHS Selects 32 Organizations for the Pioneer ACO Model

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) recently selected 32 Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) to participate in the Pioneer ACO Model designed by the CMS Innovative Center to test the impact of several innovative payment arrangements to support these organizations in achieving the goals of better care and outcomes at a lower cost.

These 32 organizations were selected by Service Areas throughout the country based on their experience in offering coordinated, patient-centered care and operating in ACO-like arrangements.  According to HHS, the project is estimated to save up to $1.1 billion over five years.

This post was contributed by Charles Dunham.

Tagged with: CMS, Federal Law, HHS,

Categories: Announcements,



54 State Street
Albany, NY 12207

tel: 518.462.5601
fax: 518.462.2670

Saratoga Springs

1 Court Street
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866

tel: 518.584.5205
fax: 518.584.5441