Health Law Blog

Governor Announces Three Major Agency Appointments

New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo has made three major appointments to top posts in the state’s health-related agencies.  The Governor today announced that he has appointed Courtney Burke as the Deputy Secretary for the New York State Department of Health, Laurie Kelley as the Acting Commissioner of the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD), and Dr. Ann Sullivan as the Acting Commissioner of the Office of Mental Health (OMH).  The Governor’s announcement indicated that he intended to nominate both Ms. Kelley and Dr. Sullivan as Commissioners of their respective agencies in the next legislative session.

If confirmed by the Senate, Ms. Kelley would replace Ms. Burke at OPWDD, while Dr. Sullivan would replace Kristin Woodlock, the current Acting Commissioner at OMH.  Dr. Sullivan will take over at OMH in November of 2013; beginning at the end of July and until November, John Tauriello, Esq., will serve as Acting Commissioner for OMH.

The Governor’s release may be viewed here:

Tagged with: New York Department of Health, Office for People With Development Disabilities, Office of Mental Health,

Categories: New York State Agencies,



54 State Street
Albany, NY 12207

tel: 518.462.5601
fax: 518.462.2670

Saratoga Springs

1 Court Street
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866

tel: 518.584.5205
fax: 518.584.5441